Some Things I’ve Learned

Living in a different country gives you a pretty awesome perspective on life. Most of which, I can’t even begin to put into words but I will try my best!

1. God is at work all over the world. America isn’t the only place where christians live and people here love Jesus…a lot.

2. People are awesome. Relationships are the building blocks of life and here in Nica, they’re way more important than in the states. Whether it be a stranger on a public bus or a stranger on the street people here are, in my opinion, are more friendly than in the US. Everyone talks to everyone, buses and taxis are quiet like they are back home. Everyone talks to everyone and everyone helps everyone. I have a trust for everyone I meet here even if it is just some guy I’m sitting next to on a bus. 

3. Time really isn’t as important here. People would trade a conversation, meal, or hanging out over being on time to everything. “Nica time” is a real thing and it’s awesome. No one is too busy to help or too busy to be with family. Schedules are suggested and nothing goes as planned and yet there is ALWAYS enough time in the day to get everything done. 

4. Ministry is ministry. Groups come here every week and we get to help them as they help people here. Meeting folks that are giving up time from jobs, vacation, or a million other things is great and I get to make a new set of friends with every group that comes in. 

5. I’ve still never had a real boss. In the two jobs I’ve had in my life both of my bosses have been so much more than a boss. Working for my grandpa’s business is a fancy way of saying that I get to hang out with him all day and we also work. Working for Vanessa here at El Ayudante is like working for an angel in the flesh. She is like a mother to me and is the sweetest soul. She teaches me about ministry, Spanish, and loving folks while joking about everything and treating me like a son.

6. Going to bed at 8:30 is ok. I’ve woken up at 6:30 for like 2 and a half weeks now and I get tired and sleep is cool.

7. Also, to go along with that, construction work, playing with kids and helping coordinate teams is really tiring.

8. Culture is key. People here have their own way of life and it’s beautiful and it’s really cool to not be a tourist and soak in as much culture as possible. With that comes a large growth in the size of my comfort zone. Packing 200 people on a bus is something that everyone should try and living life with no fear of embarrassment (talking in spanish) makes everything way cooler.

9. Loving people thousands of miles and hours away is hard. Just because I’m lovin life doesn’t mean I don’t miss people tremendously. I miss my family, girlfriend, and friends a lot but I know that those relationships are only getting stronger and firmer. 

10. Happiness is a choice. People here don’t have a whole lot and they’re 13723457896 times happier than a lot people I know, including myself. Pretty coooooool if you ask me.

There’s a lot of stuff missing but I’ll think of it eventually. I’m growing a ton and I feel like this is exactly where I’m supposed to be. Learning to be joyful no matter what and being a professional “hanger out” are some things that I’ve always worked really hard at and this is perfect place to grow those qualities. 

Shoot me an email or text or something. I like to talk. 

Peace, love, & Nica,

B-rad

P.S. here’s a pic of some of a real cool group of folks from the good ole ATL, it was awesome meeting them and becoming great friends with them in just a week

s time.Image

2 thoughts on “Some Things I’ve Learned

  1. I enjoyed watching you at the TLC I attended because I saw that you were so happy and filled with pure joy and light. It is so cool to see how you have grown and matured and put yourself out there on your blog. I just discovered your blog today and have really enjoyed reading it. Especially this one and the one about prayer. You are doing great things there and inspiring me and I’m sure countless others. Keep up the good work! Your love for the people in Nicaragua and of people in general is very heart warming. I wish more people could be like you. I also really like the saying, “Love God, Love People.” Take care of yourself. Be open and trusting and loving, but also be safe and keep your radar up to recognize dangerous situations. Take care! I will pray for you and Nicaragua and will look forward to reading more!

Leave a comment